Twenty seventeen

There’s something about the beginning of a New Year that seems to require new stationary, a big clean, fresh starts. It’s the back to school feeling – a shiny pencil case and clean, crisp paged exercise books.

screen-shot-2016-12-30-at-22-44-09

Like many I’m sure, I always find myself looking back at the end of December. The past three years have been among some of the toughest of my life. And adversely, some of the happiest. I can truly say that I don’t know where this past year has gone – it’s been a fast forward blur of nappies, night feeds and cleaning. Suddenly I find myself with a baby who is turning into a toddler. He’s cheeky, he’s loving and oh boy, is he starting to know his own mind.

Our house has a strange, almost secret, new level thanks to 8 months of hard graft by the husband. Two bedrooms and a bathroom, fully powered, heated and decorated…currently accessed by a stepladder and feeling very much detached from real life except the constant flurry of dust and dirt that it sends down.

I’m working part time, trying to keep the house clean, tidy and running at full capacity amidst the chaos of painting, electricians and yet more dust. Oh and I did mention the baby, didn’t I?! Always juggling, always feeling like I’m not quite winning at anything and that there are fifty million tabs open in my brain browser. But for some reason, the dawn of the new year feels like it is bringing an element of calm with it. The staircase is due to be fitted in the next couple of weeks. Once that’s in, it’s carpets and then up we go and out comes my inner Monica to organise, organise, organise. And prettify of course…the moment I’ve been waiting almost a year for. The husband and I will have some time for each other again. And our boy will have a safe, baby proofed little space to play.

So I don’t do New Years Resolutions, but I did buy myself a pretty new organiser and a shiny new cordless vacuum with a view to getting my shit together. My plan is to simplify as much as possible. A place for everything. Some kind of routine. And a shiny new blog for the corner we seem to be turning and the fresh start we are needing.

One thought on “Twenty seventeen

  1. I’m so happy to see you back blogging again, it’s almost like all the old team are coming back together again like some kind of reunion 🙂
    Life has been pretty hectic for you but hopefully you are right and a sense of calm will be with you very soon. Lots of love and luck with the new blog x x x

    Like

Leave a Reply

